Marine Systems

The activities of the Marine Systems Division at OPTIMARE are mainly focused on the acquisition and preliminary processing of physical and bio-optical data. OPTIMARE develops and sells customized instruments for special tasks. The company also produces state-of-the-art and competitive instruments as well as systems for coastal and marine monitoring.

NEMO-Float

OPTIMARE has developed the Navigating European Marine Observer (NEMO)-Float for the research programme ARGO (www.argo.ucsd.edu). NEMO has been further developed on the basis of the SOLO-Float. NEMO ascends from a depth of up to 2000 meters in regular intervals to the surface and transmits the collected data via the ARGOS satellite system. The NEMO-Float has been further improved to allow the deployment under ice, positioning through GPS and RAFOS, as well as the integration of new sensors and telemetries.

PopUp-Buoys

Recovery of oceanographic data from moored sensors normally requires operation of large research vessels. PopUp-buoys serve as data capsules; they can receive and store data from moored sensors via wireless IrDA data transfer. After a given time or a specific command, the PopUps are individually released from the sensor-PopUp array to ascend to the sea surface from where data are transferred via Iridium communication to a receiving station.

Marine Systems

Die Schwerpunkte des Bereichs Marine Systeme liegen in der Erfassung und wissenschaftlichen Auswertung von physikalischen und bio-optischen Datensätzen, sowie in der Entwicklung von Einzelgeräten für spezielle Aufgaben, aber auch von Kleinserien moderner und kostengünstiger Geräte und Systeme für die Meeresüberwachung.

NEMO-Float

Der Navigating European Marine Observer (NEMO) wurde von OPTIMARE für das Forschungsprogramm ARGO (www.argo.ucsd.edu) auf der Basis des SOLO-Floats weiterentwickelt. NEMO steigt aus einer Tiefe von bis zu 2000 Metern in regelmäßigen Abständen an die Oberfläche und überträgt die gesammelten Daten an das ARGOS-Satellitensystem. Entwicklungsziele waren der Einsatz unter Eis, die Positionierung über GPS und RAFOS, sowie die Integration neuer Sensoren und Telemetrien.

PopUp-Bojen

Die Gewinnung von ozeanographischen Daten mit Hilfe von verankerten Messgeräten ist fast nur durch Einsatz großer Forschungsschiffe möglich. Die PopUp-Bojen dienen hier als Datenkapseln. Sie können Daten von einem Messgerät über eine Infrarotschnittstelle empfangen und diese speichern. Nach einer vorgegebenen Zeit oder durch ein Kommando werden die Bojen ausgelöst um an die Oberfläche zu steigen, wo sie die gespeicherten Daten über eine Iridium-Satellitenverbindung an eine Landstation senden.